Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Worth waking up for at 5 AM!


I'm inviting you to join me and others around the world for the TCK teleconference - June 24.

I've recently learned about this amazing (free!) opportunity to learn from specialists - about the Third Culture Kid (TCK) community. In a teleconference/webcast - last week I tuned in to hear Ruth Van Reken, co-author of Third Culture Kids: The Experience of Growing Up Among Worlds, and Paulette Bethel, an international transition coach, talk about TCK relationships and grief. It's like a conference but without any travel or conference fees -- you can listen to it online or on the phone. It took place at 4 pm Eastern timezone which meant it was at 5am in Tokyo. however, I (who loves to sleep in!) found it worth waking up for!

This week (tomorrow!) it will be an interview with Robin Pascoe's on Raising Global Nomads. She is the author of the book Raising Global Nomads: Parenting Abroad in an On-Demand World.

The interview is interactive - and will cover the following topics . . .
* Preserve your family’s mental health before, during and following relocation.
* Identify with our child’s emotions during a move.
* Survive the challenges of parenting while abroad.
* Maintain one's co-parenting relationship in an overseas assignment.
* Navigate parenting abroad in an on-demand world.
* Benefit from “lessons learned” through Robin’s experiences of raising children abroad.

If you are a teacher, parent, and/or global nomad/TCK I highly encourage you attend.
If you a family member or in the support community of TCKs I think you'll find this very worth while for providing support to TCKs.

It's high quality and FREE! To learn more click here . Sign up to get the connection information, post a question if you have one and then at the appointed time in your time zone - grab your cup of coffee and join me in class.


EVENT: Robin Pascoe: Raising Global Nomads
Tuesday June 24, 2008.
Time: 1:00 PM (Pacific) / 4:00 PM (Eastern) / 9:00PM (London, England) / 5:00 AM (Tokyo, Japan).
DURATION: 60 mins (approximately)
FORMAT: Simulcast! (Attend via Phone or Online Webcast -- it's your
choice)

No comments: